Nigeria, my country!

Hey there!

My name is Kennedy Oluchukwu Usiagwu.

I am the first born son of Mr. Echezona Usiagwu and Mrs. Eunice Usiagwu.

I am Nigerian.

I am Nigerian by birth and by conditions that were out of my control (i.e. my parents are Nigerian and gave birth to me in Nigeria) and although, I am very proud to be a Nigerian, I cannot say the same for fellow citizens.

Growing up in Nigeria can be described as listening to a song (or rather, an album) on repeat. A song of our corrupt nation led by power hungry devils whose goal is only to profit from the suffering of the masses. A song of paedophilia, rape and constant ‘hushed-tone’ talk of sex and it’s fruits which are definitely a lot more in conversations than the topic itself. A song of mass incarceration of people for no just cause, or rather, for the crime of poverty. A song of lack of gainful employment opportunities for the ‘lazy’ youth who seem to be growing in alarming numbers (but still, no talk of sex lmao). A song of green pastures that can be found everywhere else but the ground you run on; speaking of which people do for pretty much everything (hawkers on the street, husbands from their abusive wives, wives from their cheating husbands children from their ‘unsupportive’ parents, pastors from their hungry congregation, police from better equipped armed robbers, university students from lewd and perverted lecturers, women (and men) from rapists… the list goes on and on).

The songs are pretty much endless and I’m sure you’ll probably be assuming that Nigeria is one of the worst countries to live in but fortunately (unfortunately), that is not the case. We have amazingggg names and titles just like how everyone that has money and goes back to the village gets titled as a chief (he he hee) regardless of how the money was acquired. Anyways, moving on before my ancestors come for me (yeah, that’s a thing in Nigeria too), Nigeria is actually seen as a great place from outside and in some ways, it is. I mean, we are loosely regarded as the Giant of Africa and rightly so, as we were once the fastest growing economy in Africa. We have the highest population of educated emigrants in the USA. Nigerians are pretty much the most amazing and animated people you would ever meet and I can almost confidently say we are everywhere in the world. lol Our ability to adapt to situations is second to none in my opinion and we can almost be found thriving in every facet of life (albeit bad parts sometimes).

Nigeria, my country!

 
7
Kudos
 
7
Kudos

Now read this

What do you want?

Hey there! It’s me again, still my ever rambling self. I haven’t written in quite a while but I’ve had these thoughts that can’t seem to leave my head so, #whynot? As you might be able to tell, I’m a very indecisive person. I constantly... Continue →